xTuple.com xTupleU Blog & News Customer Support

PLV8 config breaks Ubuntu 16 upgrade

Hi - I’m completely new to xTuple. I’m not new to learning software, accounting, etc. I just popped in to provide an FYI.

Um scratch everything here. Please skip down to FOLLOW-UP.

I installed on a system with Ubuntu v16.04. Got everything working, then decided to upgrade to 18.04. During the upgrade this displayed:

Setting up systemd (237-3ubuntu10.23)
Synchronizing state of ondemand.service with SysV service script with /lib/systemd/systemd-sysv-install.
Executing: /lib/systemd/systemd-sysv-install enable ondemand
[/usr/lib/tmpfiles.d/postgresql.conf:6) Unknown modifiers in command ‘plv8.start_proc’
dpkg: error processing package systemd ( --configure) :
installed systemd package post-installation script subprocess returned error exit status 65
Errors were encountered while processing:
systemd
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

So I went into /usr/local/pgsql postgresql.conf and commented the extension line:

# Add settings for extensions here
# plv8.start_proc = 'xt.js_init'

After that the upgrade went fine. When complete, I uncommented the line, restarted PostgreSQL, and I was able to run xTuple without issue.

I understand that this isn’t a lot of information. I can’t explain the problem. I don’t understand how everyone here can use PLV8 for so long without issues, and then this guy comes in from the cold to say there’s a problem.
I’m just providing information that I gathered today after a good deal of head scratching.

I do have a pre-update snapshot of the environment and I can spend a couple minutes to do some more diagnostics if it will help anyone here. For now I hope this note will help someone else who happens to be upgrading Ubuntu with xTuple installed.

Thanks for the software and the opportunity to comment here.

FOLLOW-UP