xTuple.com xTupleU Blog & News Customer Support

Help with compiling Xtuple application

I've made some simple changes to the c++ in the main xtuple application to enable more felxible UOM support in conjunction with some changes made to the functions in the database.   So I have my fingers crossed and am attempting as a total newbie to xTuple development to compile the application(s).

I'm running in to the same problem I see often throught the forums -- no PostgreSQL support.    The step by step directions on setting up a development environment at http://www.xtuple.org/sites/default/files/dev/370/devGuide370/index.html give clear general guidance.   But the following paragraph from the documentation: "When the build is complete, verify that OpenRPT works. Go to your OpenRPT-checkout-dir/bin and run OpenRPT.exe (or openrpt on Linux or openrpt.app on Mac). Select DATABASE - CONNECT TO DATABASE from the program's menu. Click the OPTIONS button and enter your database information. If the PostgreSQL driver does not appear in the list, then it has failed to load probably because of some missing dependencies. See the troubleshooting section below for help resolving these dependency problems. Make sure that you can connect to your database before continuing."  alludes to the issue and I can't find a "troubleshooting" section or something that gives me a comprehensive list of the dependancies.

I've double and tripple checked the environment variables and everythign that the documentation references is there.   My comiple is creating binaries but just as the document suggests might be a problem, I only have the two SQL drivers for ODBC and for sqlLite available.

I have so far been unable to find this "troubleshooting" section and most forum posts that reference the problem give links to a solution and the links are no longer valid.  (Error 404 must somehow be the solution to all problems mankind has ever encountered.  smile)