xTuple.com xTupleU Blog & News Customer Support

Ability to print letters (thank you, dunning letters, confirmation letter, reminder letter) for CRM accts (customer, prospect)

Hi, Is it possible to add the equivalent ability of Microsoft Mail Merge functionality? For example, I want to print confirmation letters to a list of CRM accounts. The content of the letter is fixed; however, customer name, customer address will be the variable. At the moment, I have to download the list of customer to Microsoft Access, then use the Mail Merge to print the letters.

This will be a very useful ability.

Regards

Hi, thanks anderson for sharing your thought. I’m fairly new with xTuple and even newer with Report Designer. I supposed this need a person with strong technical skills. It would be a tricky for me how to “add a button on the Customer form”. Having some simple example would probably help…though I’m not sure if I can get it working…lol.

That’s a tough one for us because Microsoft Word is a proprietary product that does not work the same or at all on all operating systems.

However, you can do things similar to that with xTuple Connect. In particular, there is a built in workflow for dunning where you generate an incident from the receivables workbench that will generate an email. You can also submit customer statements, invoices and so on electronically with Connect installed. Here’s a link with more information.

http://www.xtuple.com/connect